Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for the government to spend money to build art museums and music performance centers than to build recreational facilities (such as swimming pool and playground)

There are many diverse types of facilities in Taiwan, such as the Taipei art center and the Taipei municipal pool. This will raise the question of whether the government should spend money to build art museums and music performance centers than to build recreational facilities. I will take the position that we should cost more money on art museums and music performance centers.

First of all, art museums and music performance centers could broaden our vision through exhibiting lots of different types of exotic artworks. Take the Taipei art center as an example. When I was an undergraduate, I often went to a good deal of art or music centers, such as Taipei art center, which was the top-notch art museum in Taiwan. In 2020, it introduced many foreign artworks, such as “The Sun and Moon”, which was painted by a French painter. Because of the existence of this masterpiece, the tickets for this exhibition were sold out at a fast speed. Moreover, this exhibition also provided us with an opportunity to do a cultural exchange with foreign countries, such as France and England. By contrast, if we had decided to establish more swimming pools or playgrounds, we might not have been able to have such a precious chance to experience these exotic artworks.

Second, art museums and music performance centers could refresh us by offering lots of glamorous masterpieces. Take Taipei municipal music center as an example. In 2018, when I was still a junior engineer, I usually had to deal with many extremely tough projects, such as optimizing an intelligent robot. With these difficult tasks, I always felt deeply frustrated. However, in the middle of 2018, the Taipei municipal music center invited an extraordinary music master named Ryuichi Sakamoto who had once acquired a Grammy Award. I determined to buy a ticket for his concert immediately when I heard this news. In his world-class performance, I could totally refresh myself and escape from my busy daily life. In contrast, if we had chosen to construct more swimming pools or playgrounds, we might not have been capable of obtaining this invaluable chance to refresh ourselves by appreciating these great masterpieces.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I agree with the statement. On one hand, we could have a valuable opportunity to extend our vision. On the other hand, we could also refresh ourselves through viewing these outstanding performances.