According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The author suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton’s in order to decrease cheating among students However, readers need further proof to verify the argument offered by the author.

The author claims that cheating among college and university students is on the rise according to a recent report. However, we must know if this report is reliable enough to believe. If this report is just students’ homework, it may not be a reliable data, because students may not use rigorous methods to evaluate the situation. Moreover, students may just use Excel model to address their data instead of utilizing some advanced statistics software to generate this report. Thus, the accuracy of this report is highly suspect. Therefore, the author must more solid information about how this report is finished and where are its data from.

The author states that the number of cheating students is on the rise. Yet, we must know how many the exact total of cheating students is. If there are only three more students cheating on the exams per year, then it is not a handsome amount of increase. Furthermore, if there are ten more students cheating on the exams than last year, however, the base number of students increases about two thousand, then the percentage of cheating students is still not a huge increase. Thus, we must understand how many students cheating on the exams has increased, or the author can also provide us with the increased percentage of cheating students.

The author points out that the figure of cheating students has dropped to fourteen. Still, we must know if these students will honestly report other students cheating on the exams. It is possible that when there were some students cheating on the exams, other students would not report this fact to maintain their friendship. On the contrary, if these students report to the teachers that other students cheating on the exams, they may get some bonus points as their rewards. However, if other cheating students know that there are some students betraying them, these students may take some actions to revenge. Thus, the author must provide more solid information which can ensure that these students will report the cheating events honestly.

The author mentions that all colleges and universities should adopt honor code similar to Groveton’s in order to decrease cheating among students. However, we need to know if other schools can also get the same result as Groveton College. If other colleges has more than ten thousand students it may not be easy to fulfill this plan, or if other schools have fewer students cheating on the exams than Groveton College. It is possible that other schools have conducted a better system which can decrease cheating among students. Therefore, the author must provide more information about other schools methods to deal with cheating among students.

This honor code system may somewhat improve the situation of cheating among students. However, the author still need to provide more information to strengthen his argument.