The following appeared in a letter to the editor of city-run local newspaper:

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do. However, the author must provide more solid information to strengthen the argument.

The author states that the region’s cities differ in the budgetary priority they give to public education. However, it is likely that Blue City is a whole new city, and Blue City will invest more funds in public constructions and transportation to fulfill the basic needs of local people. Thus, the Blue city government has to spend more money on these local constructions to attract more people living in Blue City. Moreover, it is possible that there are few children living in Blue City because Blue City is still a developing city, and a majority of residents in Blue City are adults. Therefore, the Blue city government do not have to invest more money in education. As a result, the author must tell us how many children live in Blue City.

The author claims that Parson City has spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools. However, it is likely that most residents in Parson City have higher salaries, such as ten thousand dollars per month, than the residents in Blue City. Because there are many big-scale software companies located in Parson City, such as Google and Amazon, the most residents in Parson City are engineers. Yet, the people of the Blue City are almost farmer, and they cannot obtain as much money as software engineers in Parson City. Also, the residents in Blue City may hope their children to engage the same occupations as their parents, so they will not spend lots of money on their children’s education. Thus, the Parson City government can receive more tax revenues than the Blue City because of different types of works in these two cities. As a result, the author must tell us if the residents in Parson City can get high salaries than the residents in Blue City.

The author mentions that both cities have about the same number of residents. However, it is possible that most residents of Blue City are old people, and they may not have enough abilities to engage in works. The Blue city government may have to pay more funds to build more hospitals because these old people are less healthy than other areas. If the Blue city government decides to spent more money on education, these old people may not be able to have enough care services from the Blue city government. As a result, the author must tell us if the old people account for a large part of the residents in Blue City.

If the Blue City government decides to spend more money on education, it may somewhat improve the education in Blue City. However, the author must provide more thorough information to strengthen the argument.