Imagine you have been offered jobs by two different companies at the same rate of pay. One of the companies will provide you with many interesting and challenging projects to work on, but it offers very few vacation days. The job at the other company do not seem very interesting or challenging, but offer more vacation days. Which job would you prefer and why?

The world has lots of different types of jobs, and everyone has their preferred notably jobs. This results in different views on whether a job offering more vacation days is better than an interesting and challenging job. I take the position that a job with many interesting and challenging projects to work on will be a perfectly acceptable choice for me.

To begin with, a job providing lots of interesting and challenging projects could let have more chances to improve my professional skills. For example, I used to work in a big software company in Taipei, which offered a good deal of creative projects to its employees. Even though I was a rookie, I always actively asked my supervisor to assign a few more tough tasks for me at that time. In the beginning, I didn’t often understand how to deal with these technical issues and make a number of severe mistakes. However, I strived for correcting these problems with great effort and accumulated many practical experiences. As a result, after facing lots of arduous work, I could finally finish an independent project on my own. Most importantly, I could learn an abundance of useful knowledge, like C++ or Java, which could improve my professional knowledge largely. By contrast, if I choose a job providing more vacation days, I will not be capable of getting some precious chances to better my professional skills and future career development.

Secondly, a job offering many interesting and challenging projects could make our life valuable and meaningful and get more opportunities to promote. For instance, I tended to put my all energy into solving some clients’ problems and assisting my colleagues in dealing with a few tough issues. Hence, I often received praise from supervisors and obtained an A+ on my performance evaluation because of bringing considerable profits to the company. In this way, I could gain a sense of achievement and make a little difference to my company and society. Furthermore, I could thereby gain more ideal opportunities to be promoted by achieving a couple of crucial missions. Instead, if I choose a job offering more vacation days, I will not have these kinds of valuable opportunities to advance my career and have a brighter future.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I prefer a job providing more interesting and challenging projects. This kind of job not only can make me boost my practical skills but also will let me have a more meaningful life. Therefore, I think a job offer more interesting or challenging projects fit my life best.