Imagine you have been offered jobs by two different companies at the same rate of pay. One of the companies will provide you with many interesting and challenging projects to work on, but it offers very few vacation days. The job at the other company do not seem very interesting or challenging, but offer more vacation days. Which job would you prefer and why?

This topic reminds me of my previous work experience at Microsoft Taiwan. Projects at such an internationally renowned organization were, without doubt, interesting and challenging. As a result, I quite enjoyed the sense of fulfillment that exciting projects had brought me, and the number of vacations seemed comparatively unimportant. Let me elaborate on my reasons further below.

To begin with, working on challenging projects enables me to gain the sense of satisfaction from the job. As I mentioned earlier, working on ambitious projects assigned by my supervisors at Microsoft Taiwan made me feel that I did have required skills to complete something important. I still remember that our partner team was appointed to sell a software package called “Value Pack” to our Partners in Taiwan and the sales goal was at least 3,000 units sold. After working hard on the project for three months, our team eventually completed the project successfully and sold over 3,500 units to Partners. I felt that by doing this project, I not only enhance my sales and marketing skills but I also grow my value.

Some people may argue that taking vacations is more important since life should not mainly be devoted to work. This idea sounds reasonable in the first place, as life is actually not that long. Taking a vacation is necessary, yet I think one or two-week vacation time per year is enough. I don’t expect my company to offer me both big paycheck and lot of vacation time at the same time. I can still take whatever vacations I want or travel around the world after I retire, can’t I? As a matter of fact, I think the crucial point is that It’s my responsibility to make my not-long-enough life more valuable and meaningful. I myself feel fulfilled especially when I realize that I have the ability to accomplish some significant tasks and make a little difference to the clients, my company, and even the society. Therefore, I would still rather work on interesting and challenging projects than take more vacations.

To conclude, between exciting assignments and vacations, I would definitely choose to work on exciting assignments, as such tasks offer me the opportunity to grow my value and skills. Taking vacations is comparatively not the priority for me in the meantime.