Would you prefer to go to a small university in the countryside or a large university in the city?

Everyone has his own preference for different university types. This will raise the question of whether a large university in the city surpasses a small university in the countryside. In my opinion, I will prefer to attend a large university in the city.

First of all, a large university in the city could provide me with plenty of more convenient transportation systems. My previous experience would be a suitable example. When I was an undergraduate, I left my hometown, Hsinchu city, and studied in Taipei city. In Taipei city, I could use lots of diverse types of traffic tools, like Ubike or MRT. For one thing, I will not be bothered by lacking traffic tools to commute because there will be many types of transporting tools for me, such as the Taipei Bus System. For another thing, I could also cut down the discharging amount of carbon dioxide by using public transportation systems, like public bikes or the subway. As a result, I could not only benefit myself but also make some difference to society. By contrast, if I choose to attend a small university in the countryside, I will not be able to use these extremely useful transportation systems.

Second, a large university in the city could broaden my vision by knowing many people from different countries. Take my previous experience, for example. When I was an undergraduate, I attend lots of different types of international clubs, like the English Speaking club. These clubs provided a bunch of opportunities to communicate with foreigners from all over the world, like Japan or Germany. Thus, I could use these precious chances to understand diverse cultures, like German Beer Festival or Japanese animation. Moreover, I could also discuss some historic events with them, like the rise and fall of the British Empire. On top of that, I could enlarge my vision by exchanging thoughts with these international students. In contrast, if I had chosen to study at a small university in the countryside, I would not have been capable of easily making friends with these foreign people and learning about their cultures.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I choose to attend a large university in the city. On one hand, I could utilize a good deal of totally convenient transportation systems. On the other hand, I could also extend my vision by communicating with international students.