The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author mentions that they should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout their hospital system. However, several unsubstantiated assumption need support to further strengthen the argument.

The first assumption is that this laboratory study is highly reliable. However, the author must provide us with credentials to prove the author of this study having a great ability to make this conclusion. It is possible that this author is just a college student, and this study just a course report of this author. Therefore, the study may not have enough data and powerful analytical method to prove its reliability, and thus it may contain lots of errors. If these students just used Excel models to analyze this issue, and then we may not be able to believe the result of this experiment. If the author has a doctoral degree, and then we may be able to believe that this author has a professional ability to make this conclusion. Therefore, the author must provide us with more convincing proofs to persuade us to trust on this study.

The author assumes that there were fewer cases of patient infection in Workby. However, it was likely that there were other factors existing to influence the test. Other researchers might invent a curative drug to prevent these patients from infecting at the same. Thus, when these patients took this drug, they would become more resistant to bacteria. It was also possible that the environment of this hospital became cleaner because this hospital spent more funds to improve its environment, these patients were less likely to be infected by the bacteria. As a result, the author must tell us if there are other factors affecting the environment of this hospital.

The author assumes that other hospital will also obtain the same result as the hospital in Workby. However, it is possible that the hospital in Workby is more likely to success than other hospitals. Other hospitals’ scale may be bigger than the hospital in Workby, and thus it will cost ten thousand dollars per year to get the same effect as the hospital in Workby. If other hospitals really decide to adopt UltraClean, it may cause lots of seriously financial issues of these hospitals. Also, it is likely that other hospitals have fewer cases of patient infection than the hospital in Workby originally, so it will not be necessary to introduce UltraClean to other hospitals. As a result, the author must tell us if other hospitals will be suitable to apply UltraClean instead of keeping the original hand soaps.

UltraClean may somewhat help these hospitals’ problems of infection. However, the author must address the assumptions mentioned above to strengthen the argument.