In times of economic crisis, governments often reduce the money they spend in some areas. Of the three choices listed below, if a government is facing economic problems, which one should the government spend less money on?

1.Arts 2.Scientific research 3.Parks and public gardens

In my opinion, facing an economic crisis, the government should make a more reasonable decision that could benefit most people. This will raise the question of whether the government should cut off some budgets for a certain field, like arts, science research, or parks and public gardens. I will take the position that government should diminish some budges of arts.

First of all, spending less money on arts will affect fewer people. The national economic lifeline is usually industry, like the automobile industry in Germany, if the government doesn't invest enough money in scientific research, a great number of engineers will be affected. For instance, the Taiwanese government provided substantial financial support to some well-known companies in the last twenty years, such as TSMC and MediaTek. These companies utilized these funds for their advanced research, and engineers could invent more high-tech products by using their professional knowledge. These companies have earned enormous profits in the past decades, and this result lets these corporations have created more than eighty thousand job opportunities by using their earnings in recent years. By contrast, if we spend excessive capital on arts, we may not be capable to benefit a majority of local people.

Second, Arts will not necessarily be provided by governments. Conversely, Private agencies could operate lots of excellent arts events by themselves. For example, in 2015, Taipei Arts Festival was first held by a private company, which was named Taipei Visual Design. During the glamorous activity, this company exhibited lots of distinguished artworks, which attracted many people successfully. Thus, the tickets for this arts festival were sold out immediately three days after the opening, and the result of the Taipei Arts Festival was better than expected. Accordingly, this company decided to plan larger-scale art fairs in the future by using their profits. In contrast, parks and public gardens can’t be constructed by private companies. Instead, they will need to be designed carefully by all of the government departments in terms of the urban plan.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I think the government should reduce the budget for arts. For one thing, shortening the funds for arts will affect fewer people. For another thing, arts events could be held by some extraordinary private companies.