Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could

There are many different types of means to improve our society, and scandal is one of them. I partially agree with that scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in certain fields, such as politics, education, and business, in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. However, scandals of other fields, such as entertainment, may not be conducive.

Scandals of business can help us to supervise our government and avoid our officials to corrupt. Take Taiwanese government as an example. In 2007, the mayor of Hsinchu city was Cheng Jung-Ching, and he was indicted that he received lots of illegal funds. Initially, people did not believe this terrible news because Cheng Jung-Ching gave a superb impression to the public. However, when more and more solid proofs came to the light, the public began to ask the government to investigate this event thoroughly. Thus, the prosecutors started to investigate this scandal instantly, and they also received more potent clues. Finally, Cheng Jung-Ching was forced to step down his position and was convicted. Also, the Taiwanese central government declared that a new election would be hold in Hsinchu city again, and the government would also build stricter laws to prevent government officials from corrupting. In contrast, if Cheng Jung-Ching had not stepped down, he might have still received more illegal money and seriously endangered the lives of people.

For another example, scandals of education can also help us to improve the quality of education. For example, in 2008, Taiwanese government decided to purchase televisions for each class in every elementary school, and this project would need about seventy million dollars. Originally, this project was anticipated to help many students to study more efficiently. However, most of televisions could not be installed in time because the serious corruption of officials of Education Bureau, and the public was not satisfied with this result. The government decided to investigate this project, and the government discover that many officials received much illegal money. Thus, the government decided to enforce strict punishments to these corrupt officials and select another group of officials to accomplish this project. These new officials finished this project in six months, and the students could improve their efficiency of learning largely. In contrast, if the scandal had not been revealed, this project might have not been finished.

However, scandals of entertainment may not be helpful to our lives. Take Taiwanese star Lao Chi-Shiann as an example. In 2020, some magazines revealed Lao Chi-Shiann had sexual relationship with lots of women. Each media, such as television, newspaper, magazine, was filled with Lao Chi-Shiann’s news, and the public was also talked about this news every day. Yet, this scandal could not have any benefits because it was just a private problem. This scandal occupied the newspaper’s pages, and other useful news, such as environmental protection and public construction, would be crowded out. By contrast, if the media had not covered this scandal largely, other important issues might had been noticed more by the public.

To sum up, I partially agree with the statement scandals can make the public notice some important issues, such as education and environment. However, scandals from other fields, such as entertainment, may not be useful to call the attention of the public.