Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Understanding many cultures of different countries is very important for young people. Thus, I agree with the statement that colleges should require students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Students can broaden their vision by studying in a foreign country. For example, when I was an undergraduate, I liked to travel to many different countries. Therefore, when the college offered some chances of exchanging programs, I chose to study an exchange student program in Germany. In my exchange student program, I studied in TUM, which was top-notch university in Germany, and there were many different events held by German students. I attend an event named “Welcome to Munich”, in which many German students lead us to visit many German historic sites, such as the city hall of Munich, which had an eight-hundred-year history. Furthermore, we also visited lots of relics of World War two, with these historical remains, we could experience the cruelty of war and understand how much German had paid for these terrible wars. Other than visiting these historic sites, I also enjoyed lots of delicious German food, such as German sausage, and attended German Beer Festival. In this festival, I could drank the most pure German beer that I had never tasted. With these precious memories, I could profoundly understand German culture. By contrast, if I had not chosen to study an exchange student program, I might have not been able to visited these German historic sites and understand German culture.

Students can improve their ability of English by studying in a foreign country. For example, when I was an undergraduate, most of my classmates are foreign students, and we always had to communicate in English. Thus, I totally understood the importance of English. In the second year of my college life, I chose to study an exchange program in England because I thought studying in the United Kingdom would be the best choice to improve my capability of English. During the exchanging program, I chose many British history courses to study. On one hand, I could discuss the course material with my classmates in English. On the other hand, I could also understand the British culture more profound. Besides, I often went to many different types of Bars and talked a variety of issues, such as politics or history, with local people. Thus, my ability of English improved by leaps and bounds, and when I went back to Taiwan, I could already got 990 points in TOEIC exam. In contrast, if I had not chosen to study an exchange student program in the UK, I might have not been able to improve my English ability.

Some people may argue that studying in a foreign country will spend an astronomical amount of money. However, many colleges will offer subsidies to their students to study abroad, and students will only need to pay for a small part of entire fees. Also, lots of foreign universities will also provide exchange students with free dormitories. As a result, students will not be restricted by budgets.

To sum up, studying in a foreign country for a semester will bring lots of great benefits. Therefore, I agree with the statement that colleges and universities should require their students to spend as least one semester studying in a foreign country.