Many people maintain that economic development should be slowed down so as not to harm the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Both economic development and environmental protection are imperative for human society. This will raise the question of whether economic development should be slowed down so as not to harm the environment. I disagree with the statement.

First of all, we could keep developing the economy and establish some environmental protection regulations at the same time. Take Hsinchu city as an example. Decades ago, Hsinchu city was a rural and destitute area but its environment wasn’t heavily polluted yet. In the 1970s, the Taiwanese central government decided to introduce the semiconductor industry into this city. With this policy, a good deal of high-tech enterprises thrived, such as TSMS and Media Tek, which were top-notch businesses in the world. However, these corporations would also pose a series of pollution, like air pollution or metal pollution. Thus, the local government chose to cooperate with these companies to set some environmental protection laws, such as the carbon dioxide emission law. With these efforts, the local government could boost its economic advancement and improve the environmental issues concurrently. In contrast, if the government hadn’t chosen to collaborate with these companies, the complicated situation might not have been resolved.

Second, we could encourage a few big-scale corporations to invest some funds in bettering the pollution problems. Taipei city will be a suitable instance. In the 1980s, many diverse types of software enterprises were created, like Synology, and it prompted the regional economy to flourish at a fast rate. However, these companies would utilize lots of electricity from the Taipei power plant. With the fuel consumption, these institutes would cause some extremely serious environmental damages, such as air pollution, which could be examined through PM2.5. Thus, the local government demanded these businesses to supply some capital to deal with this trouble. Along with these appropriate means, air pollution could be under control gradually. By contrast, if the enterprises hadn’t decided to participate in these public issues, the environmental problems might not have been tackled properly.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I disagree with the statement. On one hand, we could develop the economy and protect the environment at the same time by establishing some regulations. On the other hand, we could also give financial support to cope with environmental issues.