People who try to acquire more than one skill are more likely to become successful than people who just focus on one skill. Agree or disagree?

People will need to learn lots of professional skills in modern society. This will raise the question of whether people who try to acquire more than one skill are more likely to become successful than people who just focus on one skill. In my opinion, I take the position that we could be more successful by acquiring more than one skills.

First of all, learning more than one skills could broaden our vision because we could understand other professional fields instead of being limited in our original territory.

For example, when I was an undergraduate, I have been an intern at a software company during summer vacation. My own experienced field is web programming languages, like Html and JavaScript, and I thought I would just utilize my past experience to fulfill the tasks. Yet, my supervisor asked me to touch other territories which I was not familiar with, such as artificial intelligence or virtual reality, because he anticipated every intern could bring lots of practical skills back to the college. Afterward, I chose the artificial intelligence project to accomplish, and this was an uncharted field for me. As a result, I used this valuable opportunity to improve my software skills, and this precious experience would make me have a brighter career. In contrast, if I chose a skill which I was already familiar with, I would not be capable of improving my strength.

Secondly, acquiring more than one skills could enhance our probability of being promoted to a higher position. My own experience will be an appropriate instance. When I was a rookie at a big software company, I was not familiar with many skills, such as hardware environment setting or deploying a software program to cloud service. However, I actively asked other seniors about these tough problems, and they also sincerely assist me to solve these technical problems. Afterward, I could complete these professional issues on my own instead of inquiring about other engineers. Soon after, I was promoted to project lead because the supervisors appreciate my extremely strong motivation. By contrast, if I didn’t acquire these skills, I would not be able to get a promotion soon. Instead, I was likely to be limited in my original territory.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I prefer to acquire more than one skills. Because we could not only broaden our vision to other brand-new fields but also gain more chances to advance our career.