Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

This topic leads me to think of my college life which affected my life a lot when I was still an undergraduate. This raises the question of whether sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support at universities and colleges. My view is that sports and social activities should receive equal financial support from universities and colleges.

First of all, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries because colleges can make students feel they are connected by holding these kinds of events. For example, when I was an undergraduate, the college I studied often held a lot of sports competitions, like basketball or football games, to let students learn teamwork in these sports games, and it worked because when we get a champion in these events, we could understand each other more and use this valuable experience in other events that need teamwork. By contrast, if colleges don’t hold these sports events, we will not treat each other sincerely.

Second, sports and social activities should receive as much budget as classes and libraries because these kinds of events can improve the interpersonal relationship of students. For example, when I still studied at the university, I often attended some social activities that were held by my college and practiced how to expand my network through these social events and exchange my thoughts with other students. As a result, I could improve my socializing skills and have a brighter future because I will have great connections by participating in these social events actively. On the contrary, if colleges don’t have these kinds of social activities, students will not understand how to communicate with other people when they enter an unfamiliar environment.

To conclude, these are the two reasons why I hold the belief that sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries. In addition, I would say that sports and social activities not only make us more successful in college but also influence our future deeply.