TPO 01 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to supp

There is no shortage of opinion on whether school's fundings should be channeled more to academic facilities or sports and social events. Even though some scholars argue that classes and libraries should be the main focus when it comes to dividing financial support at universities and colleges, I am of the opinion that academic and non-academic facilities are of the same importance and thus should be taken care of equally.

First of all, it is safe to say that for many college students, attending post-secondary schools doesn't solely mean concentrating on studying and doing research. Activities that are expected to experience during the 4 years of undergraduate schools vary from education to recreation. By giving financial assistance to both entities, schools are providing students a favorable environment where they can develop scholarly, socially and physically. I have to admit that my opinion is influenced by the experience I had at my university. My school would pay as much attention to sports and student activities as they do for classes and libraries. The school header believes students should be encouraged to take part in other activities besides their studies so they can grow to be more well-rounded. As a result, my schoolmates and I always speak highly of our college as we are proud that we were oriented to study hard and play hard as well, unlike students from other schools who only had their eyes on their academic performance.

Another reason why sports and social department should be funded equally as their academic counterparts is because not all undergraduates are studying to become scholars and specialists. In fact, there are always a considerable number of students majoring in athletics and social studies at any universities, who expect to be equally supported as students from other departments. It is obviously not fair if school money is mostly invested to upgrading class facilities and libraries while stadiums and event halls are also in the need of renovating or expanding. If this is the case, sports and social students may feel discouraged and consequently, lose their spirits to keep striving and practice hard for their future careers. This can also lead to the lack of athletes or social workers in the future who are just as important as other scholars.

In conclusion, while I'm in favor of the idea that academic facilities should be amply funded to serve their educational purpose, I also believe sports and students activities should be considered equally significant so both sides would be supported with the same money and effort. This way, all students will be encouraged to develop in more aspects and non-academic students won't be disheartened at the lack of financial support from the school.