Government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students

Governments should satisfy the needs of education of each person. However, it will not be possible to offer education free of charge to all students. Therefore, I partially agree with the statement.

The governments should not provide each person with free college education, it will place a heavy financial burden on the governments. For example, in Taiwan, many universities will offer a variety of physical courses to students to learn, such as baseball and football. These courses will need a good deal of professionals to teach the students, and thus the colleges may need to cost additional funds to hire these sports coaches. If these fees are up to one million dollars per month, it will be a really heavy burden for the colleges. If the colleges do not charge tuition fees from the college students and not receive enough subsidies from the Taiwanese government, the colleges may not be able pay these sports coaches for the high salaries. By contrast, if the colleges obtain the tuition fees from these college students, the colleges will be able to provide substantial sports courses for the students because the colleges will have enough money to hire professional coaches.

Indeed, some people argue that many poor people could not pay the tuition fees because of their economic situations. These students may need to do some part time job to get enough money to maintain their basic needs, and they will not have extra money to pay the tuition fees. As a result, these students may choose to give up their studies at the universities and find jobs with higher salaries to lead their lives. If they choose to abandon their studies at the colleges, they may not be able to change their fates by the education of colleges. By contrast, if the governments decide to provide these poor students with free education of universities, they will be able to learn many professional courses, such as data structure and algorithm, and accomplish many practical projects. With this professional knowledge and practical projects, these poor students can receive lots of interview opportunities from many world-class software companies, such as Google and Amazon. These students may find jobs with higher salaries which are up to fifty thousand dollars per month, and thus these poor students can obtain more chances to change their fate and lead a better lives.

Therefore, the governments should only provide the free college and university education for the poor students and still charge the tuition fees from other students. For one thing, the colleges can have enough funds to operate their businesses and offer more professional courses with high quality to the students. For another thing, the poor student will not need to worry about the tuition fees because they can utilize the subsidies from the governments to pay the tuition fees. Also, these poor students will not need to do part time jobs to earn the money to pay the tuition fees, and thus these students will have more time to master the professional courses. These students will have better chances to change their fates.

To sum up, I partially agree with the statement. The government should only provide the poor students with the free education and still charge the tuition fees from other students.