The following was written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We therefore predict that the C Note cannot help but make money."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that the C note in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. However, several following assumptions need to be addressed.

The first assumption is that the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe, so the C Note would have the local market all to itself. However, it is likely that the rent in the downtown of Monroe is really expensive, and it might cost 10000 dollars per month. Thus, other music clubs decided to operate their clubs in farther sites to save the costs, and they could use this money to improve their quality of performance. Moreover, the author must tell us how many people will be willing to come to this jazz club. If there are only a few jazz fans being willing to go to the C note, then this club may not be able to earn a huge amount of money. Therefore, the author must provide us with a more detailed analysis about how much cost they will need to spend and how many people will be their potential audiences.

The author assumes that there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe. Nevertheless, it is possible that most of the people attending Monroe’s jazz festival last summer will only participate in this kind of musical activities once per year. Because they are busy in their works, it will be highly possible that they do not have spare time in the rest of the year. Thus, these people may not choose to go to the jazz clubs to attend other jazz activities. Moreover, it is also likely that these well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe because of the lower living costs and more comfortable climate in this region. These musicians may work in other cities instead of Monroe because other cities have more working opportunities for them. It is also likely that a few jazz clubs in other cities will pay a higher salaries for them, so they will choose to work in other cities and live in Monroe. Therefore, the author must tell if there are really lots of musical activities existing in Monroe.

The author assumes that the typical jazz fan spends close to 1000 dollars per year on jazz entertainment. However, it is likely that this nation will encounter a serious economic recession in the future, so these jazz fans will not be able to spend as much money as they spent before. Furthermore, it is also possible that there will be other new types of music arise, such as rock music and pop music, so these jazz fans will choose to listen to other types of music. Therefore, the audiences of jazz music may decline in the future because these jazz fans are tired of listening jazz music. As a result, the author must to provide more comprehensive analysis about if these fans will still choose to listen to jazz music in the future.

This jazz club may somewhat earn more money in Monroe. However, the author still has to address the assumptions above to strengthen the argument.