College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

I agree with the statement that college students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Culture outstanding professional of certain fields, such as history or economics. Take my friend, John, as an example. When he was an undergraduate, he majored in computer science at the National Taiwan University. This college encouraged their students to study some courses that interest them deeply. Therefore, John attended a good deal of courses, such European history, and American Politics. He could learn lots of intriguing knowledge in these courses, such as the rise and fall of the Great British Empire, which had an huge impact on Europe greatly. Furthermore, he also studied some political issues, like the problem of inflation in the United States, which had a serious influence on America. By these professional classes from different departments, he could understand lots of issues outside computer science and combine this knowledge with his major. After he graduated from National Taiwan University, John worked in a software company named HTB. In this enterprise, he mainly engaged in some artificial intelligence projects, such as using an NLP model to classify news. In the meantime, he could utilize many historical or political knowledge to improve his model and raise the accuracy rate from 50 percent to 90 percent . By contrast, if he hadn’t learn these professional knowledge in the college, he might have not be able to accomplish this artificial intelligence model.

Some people may claim that people should have a stable job to maintain their lives because they will need lots of money to pay for daily supplies or electric bills. They claim that with some promising professions, such as doctor or lawyer, people could lead a superior life, purchasing a sports car, such as Porsche 718, or savoring some delicacies. However, not each person will be willing to become a doctor or a lawyer because such occupations will need to bear many burdensome responsibilities. Doctors will need to take care of many patients with carefulness and highly excellent medicine. Moreover, doctors will also have to face medical disputes because they must be at risk of surgery failure. Only when people study the courses which greatly intrigue them they will go all out. As a result, choosing the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs may not be an optimal choice for most students.

Nevertheless, for students who aren’t finding their own interests yet, the college can guide these students to attend some courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs. Take National Cheng Kung University as an example. In 2021, this university began to provide some semiconductor-relevant courses for college students, such as integrated circuit design, which could offer students with lots of highly practical semiconductor technology. These students could acquire lots of interview opportunities, such as TSMC or Media Tek, which are top-notch businesses in the entire world, after they graduated from the college. As a result, most students could learn lots of professional knowledge, such as music or art, which they are interested in. Besides, other students can have many superb chances to get into the world-class enterprises to earn enough money to lead a satisfying life. On the top of that, both of them can have a bright future.

To sum up, the college can offer lots of intriguing courses to most students. Moreover, the college can also provide some functional courses for other students. Thus, they can obtain appropriate curriculum design for themselves.