The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future. However, the author must provide more solid information to strengthen the argument.

The author claims that the twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. However, the author must provide more information to prove that this study is highly reliable. It is like that the result of this study are made by a group of students, and they conduct this experiment and obtain this result based on twenty-year data. However, if these students only have bachelor’s degrees, then we may not be able to totally trust on the result of this study. Also, if these students just use Excel models to analyze the data of these participants, then we may suspect the accuracy of this study. Nevertheless, if these students have doctoral degrees, then we may be able to believe that they have professional abilities to conduct this experiment. As a result, the author must provide us with more thorough information to prove that these researchers have great abilities to make this conclusion.

Furthermore, if this study is just based on two hundred people, the number of the residents of Mentia is more than two million people, then we may suspect if salicylates can also apply to other patients. It is possible that these participants are healthier than other people, and then the researchers can anticipate that these participants can receive positive effects. However, if other people use salicylates, they may not be able to obtain the same result. They may suffer from other negative effects, such as asthmas or having a higher probability to get heart attacks.

It was also likely that these participants could get a higher rewards if they responsed that they had a better results than expected. In order to receive more money, they might tell the true results to the researchers. Therefore, the author must tell us if salicylates will bring other negative effects and if the results of these participants are reliable.

The author states that food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. However, it is possible that if people eat these foods, their bodies may be seriously damaged by salicylates. Because if we just use salicylates as a drug 10 milligram per day to decrease our pains, then we may not excessively consume salicylates. However, if we add salicylates to our foods, then we may absorb more than 500 milligram per day, and this amount of salicylates may seriously damage our bodies and cause other diseases. Thus, the author must provide more reliable information to prove that salicylates can be used as flavor additives for foods.

Salicylates may somewhat improve our health. However, the author must provide more solid information to strengthen the argument.