The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville suggest that instituting a ‘Shakespeare in Park’ program can increase the profits. However, the director must answer the following questions to strengthen his claim.

The director states that they are attracting fewer and fewer people to their shows in spite of increased advertising. However, how much budgets were spent on these advertisements, a few hundred dollars, or ten thousand dollars? The director might not be aware of that they did not spend enough to advertise these shows, and they might just deliver some flyers and posters to the pedestrians. To attract more audiences, they should buy some TV commercial advertisements, and they did not apparently utilize this method. Moreover, there may be some other reasons for the decreasing audiences. The level of performance of actors may not be as good as before because these actors did not improve their performance skills. This would cause the quality of these shows decrease largely, and a majority of people would not be willing to come to the theatre and just watch these bad shows. Thus, the director should provide the exact total of the expense of these advertisements and tell us whether the quality of performance has declined than before.

The director claims that the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a ‘Free Plays in the Park’ Program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Yet, What differences are between ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ and ‘Free plays in the Park’? ‘Free plays in the Park’ could attract more people to watch because its content is more popular within the public. Unfortunately, the content of Shakespeare shows are less attractive because these classical performances are more difficult to understand, and people will be less willing to watch Shakespeare shows. Therefore, the director has to tell us whether the content of Shakespeare shows need to redesign greatly.

The director mentions that if they hold a ‘Shakespeare in the park’ program, they will also see a significant increase in their profits. However, what is the exact number of the increased profits? If they really accomplish this program and attract lots of people to watch their shows, they may still not receive higher profits than before. They may spend more money to install the equipment in the park because it is more difficult to finish these tasks outside the theater. Furthermore, they may also have to lend some special equipment, such as lighting equipment, to operate these shows because it will be tougher to perform these shows perfectly. As a result, the director has to tell us if they will spend more budgets to finish these shows than before.

The 'Shakespeare in the Park’ may increase the profits of this theatre, but the director still needs to answer the above questions to strengthen his argument.