The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

The author states that the introduction of 'Shakespeare in the Park' program could significantly increase the profits to rise since the Avon Repertory Company that started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program saw an increase in profits of 10 percent two years ago. Before we evaluate this conclusion, there is a need to answer three questions.

Firstly, can we be sure that the results obtained by Avon Repertory Company would be replicated at the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville by the introduction of the new program? The author provides no evidence as to how the situations of both the companies are comparable. It may be the case that this particular solution that worked for Avon Repertory might not work for the Shakespeare theatre. It could also be the case that the rise in profits at the former was due to the plays by other writers and the plays written by Shakespeare had no effect, or worse, might have had a negative effect. If that was the case, not only would we not see any profits from the new programme, there is a chance that they may incur losses.

Secondly, is the 10 percent increase in profits at Avon Repertory solely because of the introduction of the 'Free Plays in the Park' program? The company might have made other changes which could also have contributed to the increase in profits. Perhaps, the company started a different programme that is in no way related or might have renovated the place, that attracted most of the audience. The increase in profits, 10 percent, is also not a significant amount to come a conclusion based on the data the prompt reveals. If that is the case, the time and effort put into the introduction of this new program would go in vain.

Thirdly, is the drama industry still in the shape that it was two years ago? It may be the case that the people who were interested in plays two years ago might not be as much willing now. In the present social media influenced world, it is common for 'trends' to appear out of no-where and also dissappear overnight. To use the same remedy that was used two years ago seems lazy. The audience might have shifted to a much convinient and cost effective way of consuming entertainment online. The company should be trying more relevant and innovative ways to help their profits, and not the solution discussed in the prompt.

The argument as it is presented, is flawed and the author needs to answer the above mentioned questions before we can conclude. The presence of more evidence on the matter would help us into drawing a better solution to the problem, instead of presenting an argument based on incomplete statistics.