In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.

From times unknown, irrespective of the field, there was always a struggle for power. This power is given to a governing body to take decisions for the collective good. The governing body should not just have the power to take decisions, but should also be transparent and accountable for its actions. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the prompt and I think that the ones in power should step down after five years for two reasons.

First, we have to make sure that there is no curroption or other forms of wrongdoings committed by the ones incharge, making the ones in power more cautious of their actions. For example, the many atrosities committed by the Nazis have come to light only after their defeat in the World War 2. The people in Germany itself might not have known of these cruel acts that took place in their country since most of them were being closely monitored by the ruling party themselves. Though there was a electorial system in place, the Nazi propaganda was so powerful to manipulate and annihialate any form of revolt or rebellion in the state. If there was a system in place that forced the Nazis give power to another party after five years, many of these crimes could have been pointed out in the initial stages and created a possibility to solve these issues.

Secondly, it is important to bring more views into consideration and practice different approaches to welfare. As humans, especially the ones in power, tend to have more bias to their own methods and be skeptical about the ones proposed by others. For example, if a certain action plan with great potential was proposed by someone that is not in power, it is possible that merits might not be considered accuratelty by the ones in power, thereby causing it to never being implemented. If there is roatation in power, it gives an opportunity to try out the different approach and hence creating more paths in the journey to success. A five year tenure would be enough time to not only implement, but also observe the short term and long term benefits of a course of action.

One could say that the constant change in power could cause disruption in the current ways of operation, the new ones in power could discontinue the progress acheived by the previous ones in charge thereby wasting resources and time spent. But, shouldn't a great plan in motion have enough public and political support to avoid shutting down if there is a proper system put in place? Wouldn't it prove to be constructive if bad ideas were shut down with sound reasoning? I would say that if there is no rotation of power after five years, it would only cause more harm than good.