The following appeared in a memorandum from the mayor of Wistfold.

“A recent study revealed that the number of children requiring medical attention for

illnesses in our town is 40 percent higher than in the neighboring town of Champsfield.

Last year the Champsfield school district implemented an educational program called

“Kerzac Plus” that promotes healthier habits among children. Because prepackaged

convenience foods have less nutritional value than fresh fruits and vegetables, Kerzac Plus

guidance led to banning the sale of candy bars and soft drinks in Champsfield schools.

Kerzac Plus also provides informational posters and live presentations for children that

explain the importance of healthy foods and exercise, as well as the risks of making

unhealthy lifestyle choices. The clearest explanation for the lower medical needs of

Champsfield’s children compared with Wistfold’s is the introduction of the Kerzac Plus

program to promote student health.”

The author states that the clearest reason for lower medical needs at Champsfield's children compared with Wistfold's is because of the introduction of the Kerzac Plus program. The author mentions many activities Kerzac plus carries out relating to the betterment of students' health. Statistics show that medical attention required for illness is 40 percent higher at Wistfold, where the Kerzac Plus plan was not implemented. However, before we evaluate the conclusion presented in the argument, three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author only gives us the difference in number of childern requiring medical attention in Wistfold, but does not talk about how the situation is, with respect to adults. It may be the case that even in the case of adults, the difference in need for medical attention is seen. It could be possible that the livibality of the town or the environment at Wistfold itself is bad compared to Champsfield. There are many factors like quality of food, water and shelter available at a town that affect the genral health of its population. If it is true that the adults in Champsfield are healthier than the adults at Wistfold, then it is evident that Kerzac Plus which was implemented only at a school level, has nothing to do with it and the conclusion drawn is not valid anymore.

Secondly, the arguments states that the 'number' of children requiring medical attention is higher at Wistfold, but fails to mention the total population of children present in either of the towns. It may be the case that Wistfold contains a higher number of children, naturally leading to more number of children needing medical attention. It may the case that even before the introduction of Kerzac Plus program, the number of children needing medical attention was lower at Champsfield since it has a lesser number of people to deal with. If it is true that the population of the towns is not comparable with Wistfold being in higher number, then the declaration that the Kerzac Plus program was the clearest explanation, does not hold water.

Thirdly, even if the difference in health patterns is seen only in children and that the populations of both the towns are similar, is there any evidence that Kerzac Plus is the only program that was launched in Champsfield? It was stated that the program has been initiated last year. There could be any number of plans that have been implemented in between that improved the health of the children. It could be the case that the governing body of the town has put in place a very successful health plan that spread awarness and increased the health index score of the town in general, irrespective of their age. The statement that the 'clearest' explanation is the introduction of the Kerzac Plus program has no supporting evidence provided in the argument and therefore could potentially not be true.

In conclusion, it could be true that the introduction of Kerzac Plus program itself was the cause for lower medical needs of Champsfield's children compared with Wistfold's. However, as it is stated, the argument is based on unstated assumptions, and the author needs to provide more evidence to support it. We can come to a conclusion once the three questions presented above are answered.