The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

“During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

The author suggests that the shifts of workers at Alta Manufacturing have to be reduced by one hour each. This conclusion is based on the fact that the on-the-job incidents are 30 percent higher than the nearby Panoply Industries. The prompt also takes the help of experts' suggestion that sleep depravation could be a significant factor in causing these accidents. This reduced one hour time is supposed to give employees more time to sleep and thereby, be more attentive during their shift. However, before this conclusion can be evaluated, there are three questions that need to be answered.

Firstly, is the nature of work that is being carried out at Panolpy Industries similar to the one at Alta Manufacturing? Is the level of risk that the workers face at each of these companies comparable? The author does not provide any information related to the companies, or what kind of products they manufacture, to draw a correlation between the two. Perhaps, it could be the case that the work at Alta Manufacturing is more dangerous than the former, thereby causing more on-the-job accidents. If that is true, the argument that is presented in the prompt is not valid and hence demerits the conclusion drawn from it.

Secondly, is sleep deprevation really a significant factor in causing the accidents? Is the one hour difference in shifts causing as much as 30 percent increase in on-the-job accidents? This assumption was made based on the 'experts' belief' and not on actual data or proof. Maybe, the precautions taken to avoid on-the-job accidents at Alta Manufacturing are inffective and not upto the mark. It maybe the case that the equipment being used, or the infrastructure that they have, is not upto the code. If any of these is true, these factors could be causing more accidents to occur than sleep deprevation. Decreasing the work shifts by one hour does not solve these problems, but will incur losses to the company.

Thirdly, will the employees use this extra one hour that they have, to sleep? It could be the case that, with the extra time available in their hands, the workers might be searching for a new source of income and start working there simultaneously. In that case, the workers would now be more fatigue and sleep deprived than before the introduction of the plan. If that happens, the plan would clearly backfire and intensify the problem instead of solving it. So, the conclusion would not hold water unless the author could provide evidence that this extra one hour would be used by the workers to take rest.