A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The future of a nation can be determined by the quality of education the next generation is receiving. It is important to have skilled professionals in all of the essential fields for the nation, and also make suere that the students are not put to immense pressure to reach expectations. I strongly agree with the prompt that all the students have to study the same curriculum untill they enter college for two reasons.

Firstly, having the same curriculum untill college gives student more exposure to different career paths they can choose. Deciding which career path to choose at an earlier level, would put the students to huge dilemma given the little knowledge that they have regarding various fields. It is not surprising that a person who was not interested in a subject initially, might be fascinated by the same once he/she starts studying about it, or otherwise. For example, let us consider a student who was never excited about math, but was fascinated by the various phenomenon discussed in baisc physics, and chose a career path in physics. He would later be bombarded with high level calculus that is needed to explain these physics phenomenon (that he was one enthrilled by) and could regret his decision to choose this career path without having in-depth knowledge of what he would be facing in the future. So it is important that students should be getting a good idea about various fields before entering college before he/she would be knowledgable enough to choose a major in college. This would also prevent 'passionate' parents from forcing their 'dreams' onto their children.

Secondly, this would also put all students entering college in a uniform level which would greatly help in designing the college curriculum, where the students would be developing their skill-set specific to their career paths. For example, if the students of a particular college are coming from very diverse backgrounds where a few set of students are good at , but the other set were not. It would be a waste of time to start teaching math required for the course from the start. This would not only hamper the excitement of the students who already know the subject, but would also be an unfair advantage during the tests. Hence the uniformity of curriculum before entering college, would also help after entering college to keep things not only fair but only effecient.

One could say that in the current highly competitive world that we live in, shouldn't one start preparing himself/herself to get an edge over his peers at an early stage. But, if a uniform national curriculum is followed, it would also ensure that no one gets an headstart. Thereby decreasing the burden the students have to face at a younger age and thereby helps in preotecting the mental health of coming generation.