Because people increasingly feel compelled to share their personal details online, the right to privacy is eroding.

The world we are living in today, is highly influenced by social media. For most people, the day starts with social media, ends with social media. I strongly agree with the prompt that the privacy of people in our society is at stake since they feel compelled to share their personal details online for two reasons.

Firstly, people sharing personal details online not only share information related to them, but also leak the private information related to the people around them. These people that are being affected by the 'second hand smoke', few times may not even realise that their privacy is being compromised. For example, a video logger might be posting a video about a restaurant that he/she is visiting that day, the video that he posts online also covers the people that were present at the restaurant that day. Not all people would be okay with their whereabouts being available online for the rest of the world to see. There could be some one in the video covered who would not like to be a part of the video, thereby compromising their right to privacy.

Secondly, cyber crimes are increasing rapidly and any form of data is very valuable and can prove to be dangerous when fallen into the wrong hands. There are a lot of awarness campaigns going on regarding the threats of cyber crimes and how vulnerable we are to them. But none of them could control the rate of which these attacks are being committed. For example, a person may post something as simple as a day out with his/her friends, when they went to watch a game of football. Even if a single frame from the videos or pictures captured during the the billing process of the tickets is posted, and someone with a malicious intent could get hold of a shot of the card and security pins, or atleast ball park it, there is a potential risk that this data could be used to loot this account that was being used. We can never be sure who has access to the content we post online, and what the intentions of our audience would be, leading to critically endangering our right to privacy.

One could argue that every individual should have the right to express, and should be able to share online whatever they wish to. But, should it be at the risk of one's privacy? Or at the risk of the privacy of their loved one's? The right to privacy is thereby diminishing due to people constantly posting personal details online and neccessary steps have to be taken to address and solve this issue.