The following appeared in a memorandum from the mayor of Wistfold: “A recent study revealed that the number of children requiring medical attention for illnesses in our town is 40 percent higher than in the neighboring town of Champsfield. Last year the Champsfield school district implemented an educational program called “Kerzac Plus” that promotes healthier habits among children. Because prepackaged convenience foods have less nutritional value than fresh fruits and vegetables, Kerzac Plus guidance led to banning the sale of candy bars and soft drinks in Champsfield schools. Kerzac Plus also provides informational posters and live presentations for children that explain the importance of healthy foods and exercise, as well as the risks of making unhealthy lifestyle choices. The clearest explanation for the lower medical needs of Champsfield’s children compared with Wistfold’s is the introduction of the Kerzac Plus program to promote student health.”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that the reason why children residing in Champsfield have lower medical needs in comparison to Wistfold is because of the implementation of the “Kerzac Plus” program, which promotes healthy eating habits among children and the executors of this program emphasize this need using informational posters and live presentations. However, there are major flaws in this line of reasoning.

To begin with, the authenticity and relevancy of this study is ambiguous. There is no solid proof as to how many children participated in said study. It is inexact to come to the conclusion that the number of children requiring medical attention in Wistfold is 40% higher than Champsfield solely on the basis of healthy habits. There could be a motley of reasons regarding poor health among children. Everyone is familiar with the ghastly effects the Covid pandemic had on people’s health, including children. Certain regions that had effectively immunized people suffered less. Families with comorbidities and inherited diseases, were affected deeply. Champsfield could be having better access to healthcare and could be more opulent than Wistfold hence the decrease in medical needs for children. A lot of complex factors play a role in an area’s health conditions. It is imprecise to base it on one sole reason.

In addition, the fact that the team implementing the “Kerzac Plus” Program banned the sale of candy bars and soft drinks to children is punishment through the eyes of children. Childhood is when they enjoy the food without worrying about any consequences. Anything must be executed in moderation. Banning and taking away things at once is bootless. If anything, this will instil a lack of trust and the children will feel forced to eat healthy. There is no guarantee that the children will follow the same restrictions at home. The efficacy of this campaign is in question. There is no emphasis on the importance of sports as well, which could also be lacking in Wistfold. A healthy lifestyle follows good diet and physical activity.

Lastly, the author concludes that the same reduction in medical cases of children will decimate in Wistfold if the Kerzac Plus program is accomplished. This statement is erroneous. informative posters and presentations is minute factor playing a role in children’s health but also limits their understanding. Improved medical care, hygiene, sanitation, regular vaccination drives, family education, sports and physical activity facilities, are some of the key factors contributing to a child’s health. The author must emphasize better medical care and facilities, organize programs to educate parents about the ill effects of unhealthy eating habits, organize enjoyable skits and programs that call the active attention of kids and improve sports facilities.

In summary, the given argument falls short in many aspects. In order to make the argument logically sound the author must have included the statistics of how many children participated in the study and reasons regarding the frequent medical cases in Wistfold.