Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who still ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter, or they use the term "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The business manager of Happy Pancake House Restaurants predicts in his memorandum that replacing butter with margarine in the restaurant has had very few complaints and claims that it is because the customers cannot distinguish between butter and margarine or use the two terms interchangeably. However, this argument is replete with flaws in logic and is rather unconvincing.

Firstly, the authenticity of this report is in question. The conclusion based on this survey hence does not hold water and is baseless. How many customers have taken part in this survey? There has to be a demarcation between the participants who are residents in and around the restaurant's area and tourists or people who visit the restaurant occasionally. The survey's conclusion will not be concrete if the latter half of the people participate in it.

Secondly, the manager claims that "only" 2% of the customers have complaints against the use of margarine for butter. This claim shows the manager's lack of concern for the quality of food served in his restaurant as it is a no brainer that margarine has adulterated substances to give it the same look as butter and is also made with low grade milk. It is also a known fact that margarine can result in a higher risk oc cancer and heart disease, is high in saturated fatty acids and lacks the essential vitamins and antioxidants present in butter. This indicates that the manager is quite nonchalant when it comes to the health of the customers and prefers to spend less money and procure low quality products vis-a-vis a committed manager, in a typical scenario who would look to procure high quality ingredients and not fall into the trap of compromising quality by cost cutting. In addition, most tourists who visit a place, eat at a particular restaurant once or twice and generally do not pay heed to much of what they eat because they are always on the run, hoping to catch the next tourist destination and most often grab a quick bite to eat. Hence, it is unlikely that they would pay attention to the replacement of butter with margarine.

Lastly, the manager supports his claim by stating that the customers cannot distinguish between butter and margarine or use the term "butter" to refer to either of them. This assumption is erroneous in more than one way. There is a clear difference in the colour of butter and margarine. The former is made with heavy, rich cream and the latter, using vegetable oil. The customers can tell the difference. Secondly, when customers say "butter" they most definitely mean "butter" only. A large population of people, including the uneducated, are aware of how unhealthy margarine so they would never want to consume it. This shows the degree of apathy the manager has towards the customers.

In conclusion, the manager should provide details of how many customers took part in the survey and enlist the complaints that were made. The manager should also mention if any health inspection checks took place to confirm whether his claim is true. Then only can one come to the conclusion that the customers have no issue with the usage of margarine.