The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals. "In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The director of the group of hospitals states in his memo that a laboratory study concluded that a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent reduction in bacteria population compared to the current liquid soaps used in the hospitals. Testing of UltraClean in their hospital in Workby resulted in a decimated number of patient infections than in other hospitals. The director concludes that UltraClean must be used in handwashing every station in the hospital system. The argument is rather unconvincing given the evident flaws in logic.

To begin with, the director does not delve into the laboratory tests that were conducted for UltraClean, whether it was tried and tested, toxicity test results are not mentioned. Some patients could show an extreme reaction to it or even may be allergic to the hand soap. There is lack of information regarding its contents as well. Such a conclusion was drawn without authentic and significant data to support it. There can also be companies manufacturing hand soaps that result in a decrease in bacterial population by a greater percentage.

Additionally, the director claims that subsequent testing of UltraClean at the WorkBy hospital resulted in a significant reduction if the number of cases of patient infections. This conclusion is erroneous, the number of decreased cases could be a result of improved health due to successful treatment, optimal response to the antibiotics and even the patient intake that particular day. The efficacy of the hand soap need not be the only factor. The director also provides no information regarding how many infectious cases decreased as a result of using the UltraClean antibacterial hand soap, one is not aware of how many doctors and nurses used it prior to operating or treating and how many patients showed improved health as a result of them using it. Most of the patients taken into the study could have been of perfect health.

Lastly, to mention that in order to prevent serious patient infections, UltraClean should be supplied in all workstations at all hospitals is unseemly. For healthcare advancements, when it comes to preventing infections, though improved sterilisation using hand soaps is a major parameter, there has to be notable improvement in response to treatment and antibiotics, enhanced treatment strategies and procedures, and the most important of all- following a strict antibiotic regimen to prevent any cases of resistance which would only worsen the condition.

Thus, there are multiple logical discrepancies in the given argument. In order to bolster it, the author could have supplied information regarding the number of patients taken in for the understudy, detailed information from the laboratory testing studies and the number of infection cases reduced as a result of using UltraClean hand soap.