Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Today’s man is a glutton. He wants a golden plate and bites off more than he can chew. As a result of urbanisation, clearing off forests for agriculture and industries, the contributors to the food web are becoming critically endangered and extinct as well. Man-made activities and urbanisation has led to global warming, increased pollution levels and the greenhouse effect. Society should definitely put in effort to save endangered species on the verge of extinction only if it is as a result of human activities.

When we come across naturally mediated extinction of species in the accounts of history, we see that it is a consequence of natural selection and survival of the fittest, according to Darwin’s theory of evolution. For instance, the entire species of dinosaurs became extinct because a large meteor struck Earth that wiped out their population. During industrialisation in the United Kingdom, because of the soot produced that would settle on tree barks, the white coloured moths became extinct and the trees were repopulated by naturally selected grey coloured moths: a sign of adaptation. Humans do not have a role to play in natural selection hence, it does not come under the realm of their responsibility.

On the other hand, human activities culminated in an increase in the number of species becoming endangered. Take the Asian elephants and rhinos for instance, due to animal poaching on the rise, humans have ruthlessly hunted these animals for their tusks and skin coat. This has led to a stark decimation in their population resulting in their endangerment. Strict monitoring of forests and retribution must be implemented for poachers, if not already in place. When it comes to agriculture, a famous method followed in Indian lands by most tribes is the “slash and burn” method wherein the farmers burn the entire farming land post harvesting and move on to the next piece of land. This method is believed to replenish the nutrients in the soil and remove weeds, if any. But there is less emphasis laid on the downside of this practice. Burning causes a depletion of the biologically important microorganisms that replenish nitrogen and other micronutrients in the soil and earthworms that destroy toxins and microplastics. This does not guarantee that the next harvest on the burned land would be fruitful.

Humans have begun to dawn upon this and have realised the importance of the ecosystem and are starting to give back to mother earth. For instance, in a village in India, a group of women demonstrated “The Chipko Movement” in which they tirelessly protected the trees in their land from being cut for the establishment of manufacturing industries. They would hug the trees for long durations, hindering the workers from chopping the trees. Small rebellions like this can have a major impact in saving endangered species. The spark must come from within.

In conclusion, humans being the most developed species on Earth must devise impactful methods and practices that saves species from becoming extinct. Everyone knows the prediction that humans would itself become extinct if the pollinating population of the honey bees go extinct. It is time to realise the contributions of all species to this ecosystem and the maintenance of the food chain. It is our responsibility to strive forward and contribute to this earth shattering cause.