In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When it comes to the premise of inquiry of any field, a beginner has a fresh perspective that is malleable. A beginner can make observations that may have crossed the expert’s mind because of redundancy but an expert is definitely well versed in their field of inquiry and can contribute more to that particular topic of discussion when compared to a beginner.

The beginner is always curious, and their mind is open to interpretation. They spend their time delving into the subject matter and trying to find any new information related to their field of interest. Hence, there is always a flow of new information from the beginner. Any field of inquiry keeps evolving, forcing the expert to also put in more efforts to understand the developments in their field. Most of the knowledge is always passed on from an expert to a beginner, contributing to the growth and enhancing the knowledge of the beginner in a field. For instance, in medical school, each group of interns is assigned a mentor who is an experienced doctor. The interns are fresh out of medical school with good proficiency in medicine and surgery but lack heuristic experience. Even though they make suggestions as to how to go about an operation or diagnose a condition, they need to make scrutinised observations of the methods followed by the expert before they are given any hands-on opportunity. In order to become a expert in the medical field, the interns have years of learning to do before mastering related skills.

There is always a foundation that is bolstered by layers of new information. This important foundation for a beginner is built by an expert. The expert is the catalyst to the beginners learning process. They start from the basics and at each level of advancement, there is acquisition and application of new information. A beginner is not well equipped with enough experience to bring about this learning curve on their own. An expert is always lending a helping hand. For instance, in the corporate world, a set of employees report to their manager, the boss. This person is termed “the boss” because they are quite literally, the head. They were once a beginner and have gone through levels of experience and learning to earn that term. Obviously, they will have a lot to contribute to the beginners learning and the beginner even considers the boss as their role model. Whatever new information is come across is put forth by the boss for approval because they almost always know what is best.

In conclusion, every beginner has great potential to become an expert in their field of interest. In order to achieve that, the expert helps them at each steppingstone, paving the path to expertise.