The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing. "During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep." Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that the probability of occurrence of on-the-job accidents is directly related to lack of sleep and fatigue, the authors argument claiming a reduction in working hours to increase productivity is rife with evident flaws in logic. It does not make a cogent case for implementing said changes.

To begin with, there is no distinction between the type of manufacturing and processing done by Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries plant. The assumption underlying the number of accidents can be conclusive if both are along the same line of manufacturing. For instance, chemical producing industries are more prone to accidents due to long drawn exposure to chemicals and solvents in comparison to food product manufacturing industries. In addition, different industries require different work shift hours depending on the amount of time needed for completion of production, waste disposal and exporting the produce. To compare the frequency of accidents without considering these factors is unsound. The argument is lacking in this perspective.

Secondly, the occurrence of more on-the-job accidents in Quiot Manufacturing could be due to different reasons altogether. In addition to fatigue, most workplace accidents take place because of mishandling equipment, errors in manufacturing process, negligence and carelessness and malfunctioning of equipment. In order to gain profits, most manufacturing industries compromise on safety and proofing of the instruments used in manufacturing. Such lax actions on the behalf of the owners and managers can seriously injure labourers. The 30 percent increase in accidents in the past year could also be influenced by quality of equipment used. An improper analysis of statistics of accidents from other years as well as other factors contributing to it is required to effectively back the author’s argument.

Shortening each three-hour work shift by one hour so that each employee receives sufficient amount of sleep is an ambiguous argument. There is no guarantee that every employee will use their extra time to get more rest. For instance, most labourers working in Indian industries work odd jobs to earn an extra amount of money to support their family’s basic needs, which is not always fulfilled by the salary they earn at their primary place of work. They use any extra time at hand to run various errands as well. In turn, their productivity may remain the same or even worse, can decimate. Basing the argument on this fact is egregious.

Good health and state of mind obviously leads to increased productivity. In order to bolster the argument, the author can consider giving incentives to the employees, educate them about each equipment used, pay more attention to safety precautions and proofing the instruments to cause a significant reduction in workplace accidents.