The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing. "During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Vice president of Quiot Manufacturing in his memo concludes that by reducing one hour each from the three work shifts would help the company to reduce the on-the-job accidents. To prove his point, he mentioned that a nearby Panoply Industries plant did the same and they saw reduction in number of accidents. The argument made by the vice president rests on series of assumptions that are unpersuasive and illogical and this would be proved in the following essay:

First, the memo states that there were 30 percent more on-the-job accidents in Quiot Manufacturing compare to Panoply Industries plant. 30 percent is a vague way to describe a fact, because the percent depends on the amount of people who were taken into consideration. There is no mention of the number of people that works in both of these companies. It could happen that the number of workers in Panoply Industries plant are less compare to Quiot Manufacturing, so the percent gain for Quiot Manufacturing is greater. Unless, a proper number is mention it would be difficult to assume that a greater number of people were harm in Quiot Manufacturing.

Secondly, the memo claims that on-the-job accident in Panoply Industries plant were less because they reduce the work shifts by one hour. There is no mention of the total number of hours in work shift at Panoply Industries plant. It could happen that the number of work shift hours at Panoply Industries plant are more than Quiot Manufacturing. So, to make equal number of hours as Quiot Manufacturing, Panoply Industries plant might have reduced their work shifts.

Furthermore, experts claims that on-the-job accidents happen due to fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. First, who are these experts and from where have they came to such a conclusion is not mention in the memo. Secondly, besides these factors there are other factors which may cause accidents like, workers were not paying attention, outdated equipments and technologies being used, no safety feature in the machinery, and much more. So, vice president should consider all these facts before coming to any final judgement.

In conclusion, vice presidents should carefuly analyses all the above mention facts before coming to any final judgement. By reducing one hour it would affect the profits of the company and a proper cost analysis should be perform. Vice president should think of a larger picture and not immediate benefits, because what worked at Panoply Industries plant, we are not sure that it would worked at Quiot Manufacturing.