The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.
During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the
nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that
significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among
workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase
productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get
adequate amounts of sleep.
Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be
sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the
argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.
The memo assumes that taking an hour off from each workshift at Quiot manufacturing has a significant
chance to reduce the number on the job accidents. The opponents have come to this conclusion based
on assumption that Panoply Industries plant has less accidents due to shorter workshifts. Before
recommendations can be evaluated ,there are a couple of assumptions that need to be analized.
However, if the writer of the recommendation is correct in assuming that the Panoply industries plant
had less job accidents, the information does not say anything about the number of workers, the kind of
processes and the level chance of having an accident in both places. Perhaps, Quiot manufacturing
applies machines and processes that involve hard work or chances for accidents and Panoply plant does
not. Perhaps what they produce or the service they offer is different from each other. If either of these
scenarios are worth, then the conclusion in the main argument is weakened.
According to the argument, the reason people need that extra hour is because they are fatigue and
sleep deprived. Experts of this suggestion assume that workers at Quiot Manufacturing are sleep
deprived and tired. However this might not be the case. Perhaps they spend nights at parties or have
another job that deprives them from sleeping. Further, leaving work one our earlier, does not guarantee
they will go to rest or sleep. If the above is true,then the argument is not valid.
In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is consideraawed because is relying on several
unwarranted assumptions. If we assume that all of the assbly flumptions are true, then it will be
necessary to draw the conclusion that workers will have no accidents if their shift gets shorter one hour.