In any field - business, politics, education, government - those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Business, politics, education and government require very skilled leaders. In fact, serving for a long time might bring the need for changes and their replacement with other experts. The prompt recommends that those in power should be required to step down after five years. In my opinion, I do not agree with this idea and argue that five years are quite not enough for leaders to apply their abilities for some reasons.

First, being a leader requires one to have expertise on what they are doing. Thus, reaching the top takes time, effort and money. The above factors puts leaders under pressure to justify all these and do be on lead as long as they can. For example, one can be a businessman or a teacher after finishing a school. In order to be a leader of a company or a director of a school one has to has to go through more steps and has to have experience to face the challenges of being a leader. Even in the government, in order to get a leading position, one cannot be catapulted to the top of the “stairs” but has in fact to take the steps one by one. Consequently, there is a balance in leading positions. Even these leaders take responsibility when acting. However, feeling the pressure makes them do their best in order to keep their positions. Furthermore, those in power, if being good leaders and progressing why to step down?

Further, Even if we assume that leaders should not stay in that position for more than five years, preparing new leaders will not be of inters, if knowing that position will last just for a short time. For example, if a director used to be a teacher and had his own class when he comes in lead for a short time he misses the routine of being in class. All the training as a leader will not serve after he goes back as a teacher. Research has shown that leaders when given a short time to lead tend to get corrupted, and profit as much as they cannot in a honest way. In other words, if given more chances they will try to do their best in order to get reelected. Thus, a limit of five years opens the door for corruption and neglecting responsibilities. One need to look at how a some countries give leaders a longer time in power.

Of course some argue that in our increasingly competitive economy and society, good leading skills are decisive. The leaders should not be dropped from powers in five years because this does not justify their energy spent for this position, and gives a chance to neglect the importance of their powers. They will not do the best they can and it is going to be not easy to replace them with good leaders.