The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the memorandum from the president of Humana University, it is stated that there will be more enrollments and the budget problems will be solved. The opponents have come to this conclusion based on comparisons of decisions and changes that have happened in Omni University. However , before this recommendations can be properly evaluated, two questions must be answered.

First of all, is the online courses or the field of studies offered online that has attracted an increase of students? In other words, did the students register at Omni’s because the subjects were not offered in classroom? It is a possibility that students have no choice about the classes except those online. Further there is a possibility that Omni University is located in a not appropriate, favorable spot so it is not easily accessed. Perhaps students at Humana University do not find it difficult going in campus and their favorite subjects are not offered yet online. If either of these scenarios has merit then conclusion drawn in the original argument is greatly weakened.

Secondly, is the promote of online degree programs a guaranty that a three years’ decrease in enrollment will be solved? The opponents in the argument, prematurely assume that as soon as the online classes will be offered there will be an increase in enrollments of students. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps, the students that come at Humana are not pleased with professors or subjects. In addition they might not be found of online learning. They might enroll somewhere else and this is does not put water on the argument.

Thirdly, even though with an increase of online enrollments will the buildings still need to be maintained and the problems with the budget will still be there? The author of the memorandum expects that online enrollments will increase the savings from the budget and solve the problems that existed before. Perhaps, the buildings are two old and they still need to be repaired. Maybe , the budget is stiil a problem and the registrations will not surpass every years ones. If none of these assumptions comes true , the argument is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, consisting in increasing online classes, is considerably dysfunctional due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of research of what goes on and what is predicted to follow with measurements taken, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposal of adding online classes will increase student enrollments and solve the budget problems.