The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the memorandum concludes that by following the methods opted by Omni university such as online programs, Humana university will be able to increase its total enrollment and solve its budget related issues. Stated this way, the arguments fails to mentions several key factors on the basis of which the author's conclusion can be evaluated. Hence, I think the author should address the following assumptions and questions to make the argument more convincing to readers.

First of all, the author readily claims that the reason for the Humana Universitie's failure to grow is the type of program that it provides to students. This merely is an assumption without much solid ground. To illustrate, there could be myriad of other reasons for the failure to grow, for example the university may not have received enough funding in the previous 3 years due to which the good faculty of humana university may have left for other universities. Low funds could have taken a toll on the maintainance of the classes, labrotaries or the overall buildings due to which students could be preferring other universities. Hence, to make the argument more impressionable to the reader, the author should answer questions such as, what other factors may be responsible for the failure of growth in total enrollments?, with supporting evidence.

Further, the argument assumes that students are preferring online programs as compared to offline programs because enrollments in omni university has increased by 50%. This again is a weak claim and does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the students preferring online program and the increase in total enrollment in humana university. For example, Omni university could be offering the online program for much less cost than the offline program. If this is the case, lower prices of courses may not solve the budget problems of humana university. In other case, online enrollments in omni university before last year could be very less and a 50% increase would not amount to much in actual numbers. The argument should explicitly state any changes to programs that omni university made to make the argument more convincing to the reader.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands and shows that the author's conclusion is based more on wishful thinking rather than on substantive evidence. To bolster the argument, the author should provider more evidence, perhaps by a survey for reasons why students are choosing omni university. A deeper analysis of any changes that Humana Unviersity went through in the last three years can help in finding the root cause of failure to grow in total enrollments of students.