The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that after the Grandview Symphony hired a well known conductor last year, the private contributions have doubled and attendance has reached new heights. Using these reasons the argument infers that the symphony can raise the ticket prices such that it will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the state government. Stated this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and careful scrutiny of the reasons reveal that they provide little credible support for the conclusion. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the Grandview Symphony's success in last year will continue in coming years and that private contributions will keep on pouring. This is merely a assumption made without much solid ground. For example, it is possible that the conductor may not be able to attract high-profile musicians in the coming years, or that the people will get tired of the same high-profile musicians each year. Given the above scenario, the symphony would not be able to succeed with increased ticket prices. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if the argument could provide future plans instead of relying on the last years success.

Furthermore, the argument states that the private contributions have doubled since last year. However, the argument fails to mention the share of private contribution in the total budget of the Grandview Symphony. Perhaps, the private contributions last year accounted for 10% of total budget. After doubling this year they may in fact contribute 20% to the total budget but that still leaves the reader wondering if raised ticket prices would account for the remaining 80% (given that no funding from government is received). This again is a weak and unsupported reason. If the argument had provided numerical evidence to support this reason then the conclusion could have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the argument claims that the attendance of the symphony reached an all time high. However, this claim provide little credible support for the conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. What was the attendance before last year? By how much did the attendance increase last year? Will the attendance increase next year? Is the attendance enough to contribute enough to the total budget of the symphony? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims in the argument are more of a wishful thinking than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument's conclusion is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the argument must provide concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of the source of incomes, the shares contributed by those sources and expenditures of the Grandview Symphony. If the suggestion provided by the argument is implemented with the given reasons, it would probably lead to the downfall of the Symphony.