The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguement that high ticket prices will lead to higher revenue from a larger audience is valid. This might not necesarily translate to the need to totally do away with Govenment funding and still remain a success. Hence this conclusion is faulted for the following reasons:

Private contributions may have been only a 10% of the total funds needed to finance the company hence doubling it means funding from Private contributions will now cover 20% of the funding need of the company. That is, if the total amount needed id $100,000, and Private contrutions were previously at $10,000, now doubled to $20,000. It still does meet the requirement. Hence the company cannot do away with Government funding

Secondly, raising ticket prices was appointed out to lead to little or no change to the attendance rate. However, the law of economics states that the higher the price of a good or service, the lesser the demand for it. Hence the increased price might deter interested attendees who cannot afford it to attend. This will hence reduce the expected revenue which in turn will not cover the funding need for the company.

However, in support of the argument, if it was mentioned that raising ticket prices will not discourage the growing audience, then such conclusion can be relied on.