The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership in simple terms refers to how people are governed to achieve a particular objective or common goal. As the author asserts, in order for young people to become better leaders, they need to have a sense of cooperation amongst themselves as oppose to competition between one another. While some may disagree with this statement, arguing that competition breeds efficiency in the sense that each young person will work towards acquiring all it takes to be better equipped as a leader, this may lead to work overload in the long run. What amount of knowledge, skills and experience is one supposed to acquire to be a better leader than the other person? Therefore, it is true that in order for our society to thrive for better, there need to be cooperation amongst its citizens.

Firstly, there is a common notion which says, "No man is an island of himself". This goes to say that not one single man can do it all to achieve success. The government, industry or field is a system of different components, structures, functions, and so on. It is quite impossible for one person to control all these aspects of an organisation let alone a whole government. A good leader whose main aim is to ensure set goals are achieved ensures the synchronization of all these subsystems that makes up a whole, ensuring that while tasks are performed individually, simultaneously, there is a common goal at the end of the day. Hence, cooperation is much needed in this regard.

Secondly, Leadership could also mean getting things done through people. That is for a government to achieve a common goal, it needs different skills coming together, each contributing based on their area of specializatiion. Take for instance, a bank that has different units, the operations team, market facing team, treasury unit, investment unit, and so on. The Managing Director of such an organisation definitely cannot possible have the best of knowledge in each aspect. So he is better equipped to hire the best professionals who can contribute meaningfully. Once a gain, showing how cooperation is more important among to be leaders.

Further more, one other quality of a good leader is the ability to see others succeed which competition does not promote as every young would be leader, instead of helping others succeed will be focused on himself alone. How then can we breed good leaders in the society if we do not train others as well.

In conclusion, the society will benefit more if they instill cooperation and not competition among the young to be leaders since leaders function better when they can coordinate. The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.