In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author asserts that a beginner, someone who is just beginning his career journey, stating at a new job or carrying out a new research is more likely to make important contributions when compared to an expert. Others may argue otherwise stating that an expert with his level of expertise and experience is more likely to contribute better, however, this is not entirely so.

There is a common saying, “Fresh from Bakery”. Metaphorically, it means that any one fresh into a system has fresh ideas to bring to the table different from the status quo. As a result, whatever contributions the beginner is likely to add is going to be from a fresh perspective. Something experience cannot add. For instance, a newly admitted teaching assistant who got admitted based on his interest in a field of study was admitted because he showed interest and possible potential to contribute meaningfully to an ongoing research work by a Professor in a school environment or a Faculty member.

Secondly, a newbie or beginner in a system is less burdened with other demands of the field of inquiry as he will have less responsibilities to cater to. Hence, is not weighed down by other bureaucratic or irrelevant aspect of a new job, or research when compared to the expert who has the responsibility of. As a result, he can focus primarily on getting results relating to the subject matter, giving him ample time to research more efficiently and effectively. An example of responsibily could be public appearance or forums for discussions of which the expert is a member of and has to devote time and effort to contribute as well.

Lastly, a newbie would be determined to make his mark or prove his worth in the system. Hence, is more determined to impress the faculty with relevant contributions, to show that he is reliable and can be depended upon. As he grows into the field, he will be handed responsibilities from time to time, based on how efficient he has proven to be, hence less time for proper research and more time dedicated to getting the work down.

In conclusion, A beginner always has a fresh perspective to look at things, would want to prove his work in the short term and is usually less burderned in any field of inquiry when compare to the expert, giving time and resources available. However, it is important to note that the groups of people for the purpose of which they are working towards need to work together to achieve the overall aim on the research. Where the expert brings experience, the beginner brings curiosity, new perspective and should be willing to learn the ropes from the expert.