Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The teacher’s reward is in heaven is a popular saying in the Nigerian Educational System. This is because, most public controlled or funded schools do not pay attention to the wellbeing of teachers. If teacher’s salaries are based on the academic performance of the students, I strongly agree with the proponent of this motion as it can help revitalise the already declining educational system of a nation, as is the case in Nigeria. Here are a few examples to support my claim.

Firstly, the motivation to teach students will be strong as teachers will ensure that students are more knowledgeable in core curriculum to enable them excel when being assessed even it it means sourcing out different ways to teach better. This can be done by use of technoplogical tools, game simulation, and so forth. Hence the teacher will be more creative and will go out of his way to ensure knowledge is passed on, even outside the scope or provisions of the funding party, private or public.

Secondly, teachers are known to put in a lot of work to ensure that the output in terms of graduates are more competent. Hence, they should be paid in proportion to the work they perform. This waill once again encourage the teachers to put in more work because he is sure of his salary being paid at the end of the day.

Hpowever, does it mean that a proportionate salary to work done is the only means to keep the teachers motivated? Certainly, there a numerous ways to stay motivated as a teacher. But how can you pass on knowledge when you have bills piling up at the back of your mind and you are caught up in thinking about how this can be cleared through other means aside the job of a teacher? Or how can you teach a class of kids from rich home who are often times unruly can flaunt their affluence at your face?

What confidence can a teacher teach with when he takes a bike to work on a daily, wears a worn out shoe tired of wear and tear, or is unable to dryclean his cloth because the bills he has to pay is too much and his job cannot foot those bills.

These and many more are the many factors teachers are faced with. Most of them teach for the love of it; to train the next generation. It is that passion that has fuelled their actions, to look beyond the meagre pay and ensure knowledge is instilled.

It is time for them to be compensated for their hard work. In conclusion, we look to a future were teachers are as rich as the families of the students they teach. Where teachers are not owed any salary and where they are being paid based on the performance of their students.