Argument

Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Judging a person's sedulity and integrity solely based on the targets and results is not a fair indicator. The prompt states that a teacher's salary should be proportional to the academic performances of his or her class. I mostly disagree with the prompt that a teacher's salaries should be commensurate with the academic performance of his/her class. I believe that this amendment might engender more problems instead of solving them.

Firstly, a professional dexterous in some specific field, puts in efforts with diligence and sincerity towards his/her profession, however, the outcome might not be conducive as there are several factors come hampering it. Similarly, it might be unfair towards a teacher to judge his or her performance solely based on the academic performance of the students of his or her respective class. It is a poor indicator of a teacher's dedication and integrity towards the noble profession of teaching. For instance, a school situated nearby ghetto area or bad neighbourhood, would have lower academic performance and high dropouts. As the factors like domestic issues, low economic background, lower attention from parents towards their children etc. influence those parameters. Consequently, no matter how much hard a teacher of that school puts in, the results would not be up to the mark. And, thus the salary of that teacher would negatively affect, despite of his pious approach towards his or her profession. Therefore, it not evenhanded to judge a teacher's performance based on the student's academic performances.

Secondly, this measure of teacher's salary might lead to negative consequences, instead of increasing the academic performance of the students. The teachers in order to earn more, might overdo things which hamper student's development. For example, a teacher might get involved in violence or corporal punishment in pushing the students towards higher academic excellence. However, this might have negative repercussions on the student's psychological development. Apart form this, teachers might be forced to inculcate remedial classes, which would in turn leave students with minuscule time to participate in sports, drama and other extra-curricular activities. Therefore, relating a teacher's salary to the student's academic results would lead to negative effects.

However, some might argue that this amendment would eradicate complacence among the teachers and force them to put in hard work and efforts towards the academic development of a student, and lead them towards success. But this induces a lot of issues, and as per my opinion should not be put into practice. There should a common ground which takes care of both the sides, like introducing perks based on the student's performance and having a fixed basic salary. Thus, a teacher would find this lucrative and won't overdo things to achieve economic goals.

In the end. I believe that it is fruitful to involve perks, rather than salaries, based on student's academic performance. And, this will not be unfair and students will not face any duress as well.