Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

I believe that the development of the society is dependent on the welfare of all its people because of the following two reasons. However, in some occasions the interests of individual citizens should also be taken into account for societal development.

The development of a society is truly reflected by the holistic development of it's general population, rather than the selective well-being of some individual citizens. In modern complex societies, which comprises of contrasting and diverse elements, based on the class, race, gender etc., it is indispensable to work for the development of all instead of focussing just on the elites. For example, if a goverment which mostly focuses on the betterment of it's elite, for their own personal benefits, would result in high crony capitalism, and the country would suffer from high income disparities. Additionally, the happiness index or the freedom of expression index is measured taking into account the whole population, not just the top most section of the society.

As the betterment of the general public is important for building a salubrious society, it is also the reason for erradicating the situations which might lead to conflicts or civil wars. When a state is practicing discrimination against the general public, at some point of time, the tolerance of this people would be depleted. That is the moment which gives rise to the internal conflicts and civil wars. For example, during French Revolution, the general population of France was struggling to feed their families, and on the contrary the noble and the elite families were enjoying the luxury and highest standard of living.

However, in few of the situations it also important to preserve the welfare of some specific section or the minority. It might not be aligned with the development of the majority, but it is favour of the progressiveness of the society as a whole. Like, in India, Muslim population is in minority, thus addressing their cultural issues and preserving the cultural heritage would be fruitful for the overall well-being of the society,

In conclusion, general welfare of all its people should be the primary motive of a society.