The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals state that as their old low price cereal was successful in the market, consequently they can introduce other low-priced food products as well. While making this assertion, the memo incorporates many assumptions, three of which are stated below.

Firstly, if the low priced-cereal of Bargain Brand Cereals was successful, this does not mean that other food products launched at low-price would be successful as well. As the demand for food items depends on a lot of factors, the low-price model might not be applicable to them. Maybe for other food varieties, the customers demand quality over price, and thus, would avoid going for low-priced foods. Moreover, if Bargain Brand Cereals are producing low priced Cereals, this does not mean they would be able to produce variety of food products at low price. The procurement of raw materials, processing, packaging, transport are different for different products. Thus, it would require more analysis and evidence for this claim to hold water. Apart from this, maybe for other products the competitors are already maintaining a low price, and conclusively tough to sustain. Even after, these problems are solved, the brands already producing other foods products have an impact on customers, and a product which beats others to market turns out to be the market standard. Thus, a valid and meticulous market analysis is required for any of these assertions to be justified.

Secondly, even if Bargain Brand Cereals succeeds in creating a different low priced food product, there is surety that this would still be successful. Maybe the popularity of cereals was just a bubble created in the last one year, and might burst in future. Maybe the success of cereal in past one year was just an anomaly, and which might not continue in future. Using the data of just one year, and corroborating the expansion to new products based on it is too risky. Today's market is quiet volatile and customer demands change frequently, like in future customers might be attracted towards high-quality and high-priced cereals. Therefore, there is a need for more concrete dataset and customer analysis to undertake this business decision of expansion.

Thirdly, a having a low price might not be a good standard to judge a firm's success. Even if Bargain Brand Cereal is producing a lower priced product, which, in turn will create a lower size profit. Consequently, the whole weightage of revenue is dependent of the number of products sold. And, the firms having low sales with higher sized profits might be making more revenue compared to Bargain Brand Cereals. Thus, it is indispensable to take into account the revenues, as well as other factors to judge a product's success.

Conclusively, the memo comprises of many underlying assumptions which need to be substantiated with reports of market and customers analysis to the supporting the claim of expansion.