The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals One year ago we introduced our first product Bargain Brand breakfast cereal Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top selling cereal companies

In the memo to the board of directors of Bragain Bran Cereals, the author concludes that because of their success in the company's first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal, the company should start other production lines to expand its business by introducing different sorts of low-priced foods. The author reaches this conclusion because the company introduced their first product at a far lower price than its competitors, and its rivals failed to compete. Nonetheless, while the conclusion drawn by the writer might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the writer did not provide any data regarding the number of consumers that start buying from them rather than other companies. It is possible that those customers constitute a minor proportion of all the customers, and they started buying from this company because they are from the poor or middle class of society. On the other hand, most cereal consumers are from the rich and upper-class of society and stay loyal to those high-price cereals offered by the company's rivals. Therefore, the company only covers a minor proportion of the customers, which is regarded barely as a success. If this scenario has merit, the author's assertion that they outcompete their rivals due to lower prices is significantly hampered.

Secondly, the author presumes that all the companies in all the fields react the same in the face of predicaments or competition with rivals. The plans that other cereal companies have devised to compete with Bargain Bran might be useless. However, other companies in other areas, for instance, companies working in the field of producing frozen meat, might exert other strategies to outcompete their rivals, whose only advantage is producing similar products at lower prices more effectively. The argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, people might react differently toward a considerable difference in the price of disparate types of foods. People might not pay much attention to the quality of the cereal, so they prefer to buy the cheapest one. But, in reacting to the noticeable price gap in other foods, for example, meat or chicken, they would rather buy the one with the highest price since they feel somehow ensure that the quality of this food is the best possible. They may be skeptical about the price difference in other types of food than cereal. If it is true that people's reaction toward the price difference for different kinds of food is not alike, the credibility of the writer's claim decreases substantially.

To recapitulate, it is possible that if Bragain Bran company produce low-price foods other than cereal, it may be able to dominate the food market as it has done with the cereal market during the last year. Nevertheless, as it stands now, the argument rests on several groundless assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Therefore, the author must provide three additional pieces of evidence that are mentioned above.