Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

There are different opinions on whether or not history courses should be mandatory for all students, regardless of what they study. Despite the fact that some people think that it is crucial for students to know about history since history repeats itself and can teach a lot, I believe otherwise, maintaining that what happened in the past belongs to the past. In my opinion, requiring all students to take history courses is neither logical nor necessary. In what follows, I will delve into the most persuasive reasons to substantiate my perspective.

Without a doubt, the most consequential reason corroborating my stance on this subject is that universities must keep themselves up to date and make students pick courses that are lucrative to their future and yield them the most recent knowledge and information. For example, nowadays, no matter what your job is, you have to be familiar with programming. When I was studying at university, we were not required to take a programming course, and I had a problem finding a decent job for a long time. Had I been compelled to take a programming course, I would have found my favorite job much sooner. Therefore, this reason manifests that useful classes should be mandatory, not some courses that do not give any fresh information, like history courses.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is history courses are so useless since they teach students about the past. Most students do not take these courses seriously and just want to pass them, and not putting too much effort into these courses, students would not get good grades in them, which is a big misfortune. Thus, this point illustrates the fact that history courses not only do not teach students valuable data, but they also negatively affect their grade point average.

All in all, many people are in favor of the idea that the university should make students take history courses as a requirement for graduation. Nevertheless, the foregoing reasons lead us to conclude that neither are history courses effective for students' future, nor do they yield helpful information for them.