Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

University courses lay a very solid academic foundation for the future development of college students. Face the selection of the course, some people think that history classes are necessary for a university student's education has been hotly discussed recently, the reason that students could be more familiar with the advancement and evolution of human society. I disagree with it, despite minor merits, asking students of all majors to attend history classes would cause problems. I have two points to defend my stand.

First of all, history courses will put more pressure on university students. With the need the application to higher education and find a job, university students are always greatly concerned about their GPA. The history class means that they have to take an additional class that they may not be familiar with on top of the theoretical and specialized subjects related to their major. To make sure their GPA in this class doesn't drag them down, they need to be more serious and pay more time, which puts more pressure on them. For example, my best friend Bella is a biological student, whose university school added a class on modern Chinese history in the second semester which she have never learned before. She was so nervous during that period because she had eight other medical classes simultaneously. And, she needs to get A's to ensure she can apply to graduate school. She often cried to me about how stressed she was from too much homework and felt hard to acquire knowledge of history.

A required history course would lead to unnecessary costs for low-income students. To ensure the quality of lectures, universities must hire talented and experienced history professors and experts, such as those from the most prestigious universities or historical research institutions. This will increase the cost of school education. Typically, the cost of a lecture by a prominent history professor exceeds $1,000. These costs would be reflected in tuition fees and would deprive many poor students of access to education. My sister Mia, for instance, barely pays for college with part-time jobs. Her university offered a class on ancient Chinese art history in her third year and invited a professor of art history from a very famous university in China to teach the class. Because he is an expert in this field, he was directly involved in the research work of the Ching Court Version. As a direct result of this, the tuition fee for the year increased by 10, and Mia had to work an extra job and borrow money to pay the tuition fee, which made the poor girl encounter a survival problem.

Alternatively, taking a history class allows non-history majors students to understand how the country was built and developed and enrich their knowledge. However, the disadvantages of having history classes far outweigh the advantages. With the rapid development of phones and news software, college students are perfectly capable of learning the same information through the Internet outside of class time, and in a much more relaxed and diverse process.

Given the stress that history classes place on college students and the additional costs that burden those with low incomes, we can safely conclude that history classes for all college students are unnecessary.