Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students

Education is, without any hesitation, one of the most significant aspects of any social structure, particularly during the last century. Teachers and students are two primary elements of any educational system, and the relationship between them is the decisive factor that sets students on the path to success. There are different opinions on the main characteristics that teachers should have or cultivate in themselves in order to be able to assist their students in the best possible way. Some people hold the idea that teachers must be stringent toward their students to make them do their assignments and study the class materials. However, others with whom my standpoint is aligned believe that the most efficacious features of a decent teacher are understanding and a sense of empathy. In what follows, I will delineate my viewpoint on the ground of two persuasive reasons.

Without a doubt, the most consequential point corroborating my stance on this subject is that students, regardless of their age, usually study and do their homework spontaneously if they like their teachers. If teachers maintain positive features such as understanding, empathy, even a sense of humour, and so on, they can build a long-lasting bond with their students. Under this condition, students study and do their assignments or projects since they love their teacher and want to create a positive feeling in their teachers about themselves. In other words, students want to compensate for their teachers' favours through studying and satisfying their teachers' expectations. According to one survey conducted by researchers at MIT, pupils who had classes with those professors at MIT who have relatively more understanding and empathy than other professors are more successful in their careers. Over 80 percent of these students are still in touch with those professors. Therefore, the above survey and explanation manifest the significant impact of teachers' or professors' positive features on the success of their students.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is that being too stringent toward students dramatically undermines the effectiveness of the teachers' teaching methods, even if they implement the most recent and efficacious methods. Students taking classes with strict teachers or professors just do their homework and projects out of fear, for instance, being humiliated by their teachers, not for the sake of their own good. These students are more prone to cheat in their exams or assignments since they want to only pass the course. Accordingly, not only do they learn nothing, but they also might never continue their education at a higher level despite their high level of intelligence or hidden talent in academic stuff, which might be possible in many students.

To make the long story short, and reflecting upon all the aforementioned grounds, one soon realizes that teachers' features are a deterministic element which may determine the path on which the students build their future. Positive characteristics such as understanding and empathy have promising effects on the students. In contrast, while negative features such as stringency might affect some students positively, they adversely influence a considerable proportion of students.