Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

The role a teacher plays in building the future of his or her students is crucial. By certain views, this role is even more pivotal than that of the parents fo the students. For this reason, it is fundamental to discuss what are the best means for teachers to achieve the best possible preparation for their students. In particular, there is a hot debate about whether it is more important for a teacher to be understanding or, on the contrary, to be rigorous and demanding. It is the case to spend some words about what truly is the role of a teacher, namely to guide and motivate students throughout their studies, and what the students themselves need to get to their goals. This way, it will be evident that teachers must be first of all empathic, and, only after this, also rigorous.

How can we specifically mark some qualities as the most important for an educational leader? That is, what is that teachers mean for students, what is their true role? It seems legit to talk widely and to consider every aspect of the preparation of a student: by this point of view, teacher have to teach how to love the entire otherwise-stressing studying process. Simone Weil, a French writer, expressed this beautifully by the sentence: "The joy of learning is as essential to students as breath to runners". In fact, to effectively succeed in our studies, what we basically need is, before anything else, passion. Hence, the qualities of the witty teacher: empathy, enough to build up a potive relationship with his students and be able to push them toward a passionated and loving studying activity. This is, incontrovertibly, the main feature of a great teacher.

On the other hand, it is also undoubted that students are, in particular in the earliest stages of their study careers, demanding a bit of authority. It is not something so misterious or mythical: everyone knows very well that when his teacher demands little or nothing, no study is really requested. In other words, people need to be challengedby the school system and even a bit scared by their teacher. As a matter of fact, indeed, people who are not expected to study a lot ar not going to study as much as would be correct to. The reason is simple: studying is a tough process, a demanding activity, almost a sacrifice. Thus, no good teacher can really exist if no rigour and authority are presented in front of the students.

Nonetheless, it seems to me that the above presented views are not totally mutually exclusive. If we closely look at both the positions on the issue, we can recognize that they are in fact not that much of a dicotomy. Why would be a teacher that is, at the same time, rigorous and empathic, or highly expecting and understanding? As "the best is in the middle", like ancient Latin philosophers recomended, it sounds reasonable to infer from what has been analyzed in the above paragraphs that a teacher has to be both emphatic and distant. The instance that can prove this is quite simple: imagine a teacher who is capable of capturing the trust of his students, to almost make them feel comfortable with them. Well, imagine now that the same teacher looks with askance to one of his students: the latter would be furious with himself, because he disappointed his trust-worthy teacher. This is, of course, the best possible teaching system. As base of everything, anyway, there are again positive and nice attitudes of the teacher toward the students.

To conclude, it seems wise to deem empathy and apprehensiveness as the most fundamental features of the perfect teacher. In fact, to truly strenghten and engender the pleasure of study in their students, teachers need to make them love what they do. This notwithstanding, some rigorousness and slightly high expectations do also have their positive effects on students, as far as these attitudes do not overcome the above mentioned virtues.