Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Nowadays, technology has acquired a pivotal role in the educational system almost everywhere. As a matter of fact, colleges, schools and universities make constant use of multimedia as aids to the learning process. While it is evident that these means can somewhat distract students, we must consider the many advantages of this new system. All considered, in fact, we can easily maintain that it is not true that the distractions mentioned by the author of the above statement occur "too often".

First of all, we need to qualify the expression "real learning". It seems legit to deem "real learning" the process of deepening someone's own knowledge about a subject, thus basically learning new things by studying and making researches. By this view, it is incontrovertible that internet and, more generally, new technologies are a new instrument for real learning. Just consider Wikipedia: it is an all-comprehensive library of a plethora of subjects, fundamentally keeping a substantial part of humans' knowledge about almost everything. How can anyone deny that, thanks to Wikipedia, we have now a huge and momentous chance to learn something about anything we need or desire to? At the same time, there are no important disadvantageous features in this important site and, in particular, no relevant distraction can be highlighted.

In the same way as Wikipedia, schools can now base the preparation of their students on a ton of other new methods. For instance, on platforms such as YouTube there is an ever-increasing number of channels that are leaded by pundits and that furnish studying material to students from all over the world. What is more, some universities, such as many Italian colleges with their long-lasting quality tradition, are now opening a considerable number of online courses that give distant students the chance to attend lessons even though they are far away from cities with universities. These are not distraction at all: on the contrary, they are a revolution in the teaching mechanism that is engendering a hugely wide community of students and researchers.

It can be argued that, notwithstanding these advantages, technologies still fail to focus on the real sense of learning. For example, it is true that lessons based on YouTube videos and Wikipedia pages distract from the evidence that most of our knowledge is held in books. Or, again, online lessons cut off the contact between student and professor, that is a crucial part of the university experience. This is all undeniable, but it is not a thorough reasoning. All considered, isn't it true that these new tools are burgeoning the students’ community and the general level of culture in the world? To answer this question there are many noticeable surveys that prove that culture is been delivered to many new people in the world, and it is all related to the distribution of technologies and, above all, of the Internet. This, it is clear, means that while these tools are somewhat a distraction for the students from real learning, they also have a positive effect to the diffusion of culture and of learning habits that cannot be argued.

To conclude, it is true that technologies constitute a form of distraction for a number of reasons. Nonetheless, it does not happen that often: the author holds only partially true. In fact, students are usually helped by videos, computers, and the Internet to achieve better education and can thus have advanced tools to study that do not confuse or distract them. On the contrary, real learning has been strengthen and deeply improved by technology.